Council Members

The Detroit Food Policy Council was established in 2009 by unanimous approval of The Detroit City Council. The DFPC is an implementation, monitoring and advisory body and consists of twenty-one members, including thirteen (13) representatives from various sectors of the Food System, four (4) "at-large" representatives, one (1) youth representative and three (3) governmental representatives, one each from the Mayor's Office, City Council and The Department of Health and Wellness Promotion (DHWP). Members serve as individuals.

Detroit Food Policy Council Roster

Executive Committee Officers

Sandra Turner-Handy, Chair
Environmental Justice

Mariangela (Mimi) Pledl, Vice Chair
Urban Planning

Jerry Ann Hebron, Treasurer
Farmers' Markets

Zaundra Wimberley, Secretary
Institutional Food

Council Members

Velonda Anderson, Ph.D.
Detroit Health Department, Appointee

Jelani Barber
Food Industry Workers

Jermond Booze
Retail Food Stores

Garry Bulluck
Mayor's Office, Appointee

Tyler Chatman
At Large, Youth Representative

Anika Grose
Wholesale Food Distributors

Eileen Haraminac
Colleges and Universities

Jayne Jackson
At Large

Nick Leonard
At Large

Kirk Mayes
Emergency Food Providers

Atieno Nyar Kasagam
At Large

Suezette Olaker, M.D.
Nutrition and Well Being

Lindsay Pielack
Sustainable Agriculture

Tepfirah Rushdan
At Large

Kathryn Lynch Underwood
Detroit City Council, Appointee

Curtis Valasek
K-12 Schools

Downloadable Council Roster 

Support Us